Scott Teeple, Conductor

Conductor Scott TeepleScott Teeple, Professor of Music, serves on the conducting faculty at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. His duties include sharing responsibilities with the concert band, conducting the wind ensemble, and teaching undergraduate and graduate conducting. During the academic year, he conducts the Winds of Wisconsin, an honors band comprised of talented high school musicians from around the state.

Mr. Teeple is in demand as a clinician and guest conductor throughout the United States and abroad. He has guest conducted and led All–State bands throughout the country and abroad. He is frequently invited to teach conducting workshops and lead. He has conducted the World Youth Wind Symphony at the Interlochen Arts Camp, the American School in Singapore, the IASAS Cultural Festival, and the honor band of the International American Schools in Doah, Qatar.

Under his leadership, ensembles have performed with guest soloists and conductors of international renown. On campus, ensembles have engaged in week-long residencies with guest composers and guest artists including 2011 Pulitzer Prize winner Zhou Long, critically acclaimed percussionist/composer Michael Udow, Marianne Ploger, and Grammy Winning composer Michael Udow. Applied faculty have frequently performed as guest soloists. The UW Band program continues to offer the “Wisconsin Summit,” a workshop for middle and high school band directors, featuring guest clinicians from across the country. The Wind Ensemble recently recorded its first CD, and also recorded the “Concerto for Euphonium” by John Stevens.

Before his appointment at the University of Wisconsin, Teeple served on the faculty at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, the University of Michigan–Ann Arbor, St. Clair County Community College (MI), and Port Huron Northern High School (MI). He has served on the executive board of the Wisconsin Music Educators’ Association and on the Arts Alliance Executive Board and served as president of the Big Ten Band Directors Association.

Mr. Teeple received degrees in Music Education and Conducting from the University of Michigan where he studied with H. Robert Reynolds. He is a member of the College Band Director’s National Association, the National Association for Music Education, and the World Association of Symphonic Bands and Ensembles. He is the 2012 recipient of the UW Edna Weicher’s Award. Other honors include membership in Phi Mu Alpha, Kappa Kappa Psi, Pi Kappa Lambda, and Phi Eta Sigma.

Guest Faculty

Each year guest faculty is invited to work with Winds of Wisconsin to offer opportunities for more instrument-specific instruction and a wide variety of perspectives and approaches to musical learning. The list below shows a sampling of faculty members who have led sectionals, instrument classes, or who have guest conducted in the recent past.

  • Aaron Hill, oboe
  • Alex Noppe, trumpet
  • Alicia Lee, clarinet
  • Daniel Grabois, horn
  • Darin Olson, conductor
  • Jared Ziegler, saxophone
  • Marc Vallon, bassoon
  • Tim Hagen, flute
  • Will Porter, trombone
  • Tom Curry, tuba/euphonium
  • Dan Brickner, percussion